Phelps County Historical Society

The Phelps County Historical Society (PCHS) is located in the county seat of Rolla, Missouri. It was organized in 1939, and incorporated in 1940. The Society’s mission is to preserve and showcase the history of Phelps County. The PCHS does this through the exhibition and interpretation of artifacts, architecture, programming, and publications. The Society covers the history of all of Phelps County including the incorporated towns of Rolla, St. James, Doolittle, Edgar Springs, and Newburg. The Society began the publication of a newsletter in 1982, in order to better disseminate information on the society and about the history of Phelps County. The Society officially gained non-profit tax-deductible status in 1986. It is a membership based organization that is led by a volunteer executive committee elected at each fall meeting of the members.