On October 12, 2018, Governor Michael L. Parson signed Executive Order 18-07 creating the Missouri Bicentennial Commission. The purpose of the Commission is to “aid the State Historical Society of Missouri in its charge to plan for and implement the commemoration of the Missouri bicentennial and to further state efforts to honor the State of Missouri and its rich history and heritage on the occasion of its bicentennial.” You may read the full text of Executive Order 18-07 here.

Retired Missouri Senator Ronald F. Richard of Joplin and Mayor Carrie Tergin of Jefferson City co-chair the Missouri Bicentennial Commission.


Ronald F. Richard – Commission Co-Chair
President Pro Tempore of the Missouri Senate (retired)

Carrie Tergin – Commission Co-Chair
Mayor, City of Jefferson

Mike Kehoe
Missouri Lieutenant Governor

John R. Ashcroft
Missouri Secretary of State

Dave Schatz
President Pro Tempore of the Missouri Senate

Elijah Haahr
Speaker of the Missouri House of Representatives

Sara Parker Pauley
Director, Missouri Department of Conservation

Carol S. Comer
Director, Missouri Department of Natural Resources

Chris Chinn
Director, Missouri Department of Agriculture

Stephen Foutes
Director, Missouri Division of Tourism

Gary R. Kremer
Executive Director, The State Historical Society of Missouri

Frances Levine
President, Missouri Historical Society

William Belko
Executive Director, Missouri Humanities Council

Patrick Baker
Chair, Missouri State Capitol Commission

Joseph L. Driskill
Missouri Military Advocate, Missouri Military Preparedness and Enhancement Commission

Stephen N. Limbaugh, Jr.
United States District Judge, Eastern District of Missouri

Mary R. Russell
Judge, Supreme Court of Missouri

Dr. Jeanne Sinquefield
Sinquefield Charitable Foundation

Sen. Brian Williams
Missouri State Senator for the 14th Senatorial District


Posted Tuesday, September 1, at 8:15 am

Notice is hereby given that the Missouri Bicentennial Commission will conduct a meeting at 1:00 pm on Friday, September 4, 2020, via video conference. The meeting may be accessed by the following methods:

Join Zoom Meeting


Meeting ID: 943 2740 5147

Passcode: 745794

Dial by your location

        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

Meeting ID: 943 2740 5147

The tentative agenda for this meeting includes:

a. Approval of agenda

b. Approval of minutes for July 24, 2020

c. Statehood Day events – Update

d. Banner/flag program – Update

e. Poster competition - Update

f. Licensing - Update

g. Capitol grounds proposal

h. Marketing presentation

i. News and announcements